Piece n Patch

Clean Sewing Room

Posted on: July 26, 2010

Whenever I see some pictures in patchwork magazines, I wonder rather envy to see other quilter’s studios, very neat, clean and worth dying for.

How come they have such organized and beautiful place? Because I could never manage to keep my work place in presentable shape for more than an hour. I do clean, manage, and beautify my beloved sewing room; the best loved place of my home, but only for the time, very short indeed. The moment I start a project, the hurricane is on, all the tidiness fall a prey to my sorting, ironing and cutting. It’s emergency time, no rules, pick this, drop that, the main emphasis is on the right fabric for the project and the heat is on.

I have to work on the piece and nothing else seems to matter. And in minutes a look of general chaos is all around the room, bolts of fabric, cutting rags, and books all seem to fly out of their places, seemingly coming to my aid. Please use me, oh please I am waiting for so long, oh no I am the right rag for this flying geese, or no not at all, flying geese is not the right pattern, use me I am a drunkard path left over cutting waiting for ages to be used. I am suffocating in the drawer for so long that I am fading.

So I sit in the mess and create master piece. I don’t allow any servant to touch any piece no matter how small it is. In-fact smaller the piece, more important it is. They are not allowed to sweep the floor till I tell them to do so. Not a piece more than an inch can be thrown.

I have a big cushion cover and I put all the discarded rags in that, if any that I dare to part with and in the end I have a very soft, cosy bean bag for the home or to sell. And it serves as storage for the rags I may need, till I stitch the opening and use it.

But the main problem is always there, no matter how much boxes of shoes I buy, beg, borrow or steal. I am always short of storage boxes. Right now I am in desperate need of some caterpillar shoe boxes; they are the best, good to look at, with sturdy lid, and an impression plus a status symbol.

As I am a professional quilter, I have to work 6 hours a day, so I have to spend a lot of time in sewing room; my first home, but I can’t control the mess once I am on the work super speed train.

Otherwise I am a very organized person, one can inspect my closets, weather be it kitchen, bed or store room , all worth looking at, but I think as I don’t work in those places, they remain clean and tidy, except for my hubby’s under garment drawer.

I think I am compelled to work in mess, as when I am working, the main target is work, in the best possible way, the best shortest time and with the best end results, so when I am done with one project, I do set my heart and body to clean the mess, and sweep the floors, and cherish the scene for some golden moments. May be that’s the fate of my sewing room, and me as well.

But, the main point is still there, how come other quilter keep their work area clean? Either they don’t work there, or keep a working place hidden somewhere in the attic, or they work few hours or they take photos before starting a quilt. Especially a rag bag quilt; A great mystery for me.

Some Body Help Me…

 

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

July 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031